The Sedalia City Council conducted public works business Monday night, said farewell to three Council members and welcomed three new ones.

In addition, three lifesaving awards were presented by Sedalia Fire Chief Greg Harrell to firefighters Joe Arnold and Colby Snapp, and Capt. Greg Smith.

The Council:

*Accepted an agreement with Insituform Technologies USA, LLC, to perform “cured-in-place” CIPP pipe lining of various sanitary sewer lines in the City at a cost of $130,917.21, which is under budget.

*Accepted a final change order from Ryan Construction Company, LLC, for 2018 water system improvements for a 2nd through 13th Street project at a cost of $8,808.10. This brings the total project cost to $436,664.10.

*Accepted a sales agreement with Foley Equipment Company (Wichita) for the purchase of a Caterpillar mini-excavator at a cost of $48,050 and a Caterpillar B6S hammer at a cost of $10,369 for the Water Division and Public Works departments. The new equipment will have a "smaller footprint" and be much easier to get in and out of small spaces, Councilman Leeman said.

*Accepted a change order from Al. J. Mueller Construction Company (St. Joseph) for the Heckart Community Center, 1800 West 3rd. The contract time will be increased by 16 days. The contract sum is still $1,893,948.

*Approved a recommendation from the Citizens Traffic Advisory Committee to allow Sherry Broyles to complete Shirley Neff's term expiring June, 2022 and a recommendation from the Sedalia Park Board to allow Janice Summers to complete Kevin Thomas' term expiring June, 2022.

One new liquor license was approved Monday night, including Liridiana Catalan dba Morelos Taqueria, 125 E. 16th, liquor by the drink and Sunday sales, $750.

A request for a liquor license from Mark Otten dba Full Throttle Billiards, 116 South Ohio, was tabled due to no certificate of occupancy.

Five temporary event licenses were granted Monday night for a June 22 event promoted by Craft Beer Cellar to benefit Open Door:

*Kyle Gray dba Casual Animal Brewing, Kansas City
*Shane Cox dba Six Miles Bridge, Maryland Heights
*Kristy Long dba Wildlife Ridge Winery, Smithton
*Mike Hammerly dba Phantom V Distilling Co., Warrensburg
*Chris Byars dba Bee's Knees Ale House, Versailles

Four renewal licenses were granted as well:

*Cathy Geotz dba Break Time #3084, 318 W. Broadway, Sunday Sales, $300
*Cathy Geotz dba Break Time #3079, 2801 W. Broadway, Sunday Sales, $300
*Cathy Geotz dba Break Time #3083, 808 W. Broadway, Sunday Sales, $300
*Tony A. Oldfield dba Applebee's Neighborhood Grill & Bar, 3320 W. Broadway, liquor by the drink and Sunday sales, $750

Plaques were presented to the outgoing 2nd, 3rd and 4th Ward Council members, including Bonita Nash, Charles Lowe and Tollie Rowe.

New Council members were sworn in, including Tina Boggess, Lucas Richardson and Rhiannon Foster. All three won their seats in the June 2 election, which was postponed from April 7 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. First Ward Councilman Jeff Leeman ran unopposed. He was sworn in as well. Certificates and magnetic name tags were presented to the new members by City Clerk Arlene Silvey.

Second Ward Councilman Andrew Dawson was elected Mayor Pro Tem Monday night.

Presentations were featured by Sedalia Police Chief Matt Wirt, City Administrator Kelvin Shaw and Paul Bennett with the American Legion Post 642 (POW/MIA).

Shaw noted that year-to-date sales figures saw a  5.5 percent increase over 2019. "It was better than what I expected," he said. Fiscal year-to-date showed a 3.5 percent increase. June collections actually represent April sales tax activity, Shaw explained.

Mayor Kehde was presented with two large highway signs (from a Jefferson Barracks representative) designating Sedalia as a POW-MIA City. The City is now required to present at least one program per year featuring POW-MIA information, it was noted. A framed proclamation was also read aloud and presented to Mayor Kedhe. Former Mayor Allen Hawkins was there for the presentation and posed for photos.

In the good and welfare portion of the program, Council heard from Connie Washington, who said she has an ongoing code enforcement problem, and she has gotten the runaround from everyone in City government, except Mayor John Kehde.

Another speaker from the audience Monday night was Sean Sims, who lives in the Second Ward. He was questioning the fatal shooting of a 25-year-old Sedalia woman by a Pettis County deputy on Saturday night during a traffic stop.

Sims said he and others were looking for transparency, and warned that demonstrations concerning the incident would be coming within 48 hours.

A realignment of assignments for Council members was made public by Mayor Kehde near the end of the meeting.

The Finance and Administration Committee will be comprised of Megan Page, Andrew Dawson and Rhiannon Foster.

The Public Safety Committee will be comprised of Thomas Oldham, Tina Boggess and Megan Page.

The Public Works Committee will be comprised of Jeff Leeman, Thomas Oldham and Lucas Richardson.

The Community Development Committee will be comprised of Andrew Dawson, Jeff Leeman, Bob Cross and Tina Boggess.

Monday night's activities was also live-steamed online via Go To Meeting.

A reception was held in the lobby following the public meeting.

The new Council later met in closed session.

More From KIX 105.7