Last winter across the globe, nearly 6,000 people of all ages took a beginner ski or snowboard lesson, in effort to participate in the “World’s Largest Lesson.” Due to a lack of proper evidence, the record still needs to be set in the Guinness Book of World Records.

The snow sports industry is going to attempt the “World’s Largest Lesson” again on Friday, January 6, 2017 and, this time, will be joined by many Canadian resorts, via the Canadian Ski Council. All lessons will take place simultaneously in seven different time zones - 9 a.m. Alaska time, 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 noon Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time, 2 p.m. Atlantic time and 2:30 Newfoundland time.

In our area, Hidden Valley, in Wildwood, MO along with Snow Creek, in Weston, MO, are part of the 75 midwest ski areas in the U.S. hosting the world's largest ski & snowboard lessons.

According to www.skiandsnowboardmonth.org, “this World Record event is brought to you by the organizers of the Learn to Ski and Snowboard Initiative, the National Ski Areas Association, Professional Ski Instructors of America, SnowSports Industries America and SNOW Operating.” Many resorts offer learn to ski programs throughout the winter.
Discounted programs are found throughout the Midwest and can be accessed at snowplaces.com.

Ben Blankenburg